My carbon footprint in Singapore, 20 months later

The last time I had my carbon footprint calculated was in September 2012. And now, slightly more than a year and a half later, I have just got it calculated and updated. I always turn to and highly recommend this user-friendly calculator provided by the NUS (National University of Singapore) Office of Environmental Sustainability. The calculator takes into account your location and the results are compared against your country’s average as well as the world’s.

For the uninitiated, you may like to read up my previous post on this topic to know a bit more. Some of us may have doubts about the “hype” on carbon footprint and global climate change, so I say, why not let’s find out more about it from different sources and decide for ourselves?

To recap, my previous set of numbers for the period between 1st September 2011 and 31 August 2012 was:

I live in Singapore.

My carbon footprint: 7.36 metric tonnes of CO2

Average for people in Singapore: 12.20 metric tonnes per year

Average for industrial nations: about 11 metric tonnes per year

Worldwide average: about 4 metric tonnes per year

Worldwide TARGET to combat climate change: 2 metric tonnes

My new set of results for the period between 1st April 2013 and 31st March 2014 is shown below, but I think finding out your own set of figures is more engaging and beneficial than just looking at mine! So what are you waiting for? Calculate now.

280414_1

I live in Singapore.

My carbon footprint: 6.24 metric tonnes of CO2

*my footprint has shrunk by 1 .12 metric tonnes! A huge room for improvement still. I am still generating too much wastage and I don’t buy local often enough, these are two departments I want to work on. Cheers!

Average for people in Singapore: 12.20 metric tonnes per year

Average for industrial nations: about 11 metric tonnes per year

Worldwide average: about 4 metric tonnes per year

Worldwide TARGET to combat climate change: 2 metric tonnes

CALCULATE NOW!

